Undressed to Impress

Bravissimo Part 2: Re-fitting and sub-28 bands

on March 7, 2012

The second Bravissimo store of my trip was the Oxford Circus branch. I used to wear a 28FF in most styles, but have been sizing up to a 28G in so many lately that I decided it was time to get fitted. This served only to confirm my worst fears: that I’m a ‘small’ G. Not what an internet shopper who can’t try before she buys likes to hear! I went in wearing a 26GG Ewa Michalak bra, so the fitter went to find me the tightest 28s she could. I was impressed with her knowledge of the stock, and nearly everything she bought me was tight enough – unheard of! Unfortunately I didn’t get to take any pictures, but I wanted to share some styles that may work for the sub-28 market (and above, of course).

The Cleo Juna was the first bra my fitter put me in. I tried a 28G and the cup fit was OK. The lace was quite loose at the top, probably because my boobs are fuller at the bottom, so this would most likely be a good bra to try if you’re fuller on top. I definitely couldn’t have sized down without getting overspill. I didn’t get my preferred rounded shape from this bra and the band felt like a fairly typical 28, so this wasn’t a bra for me.

Next up was the Porcelain bra by Panache in a 28G. I LOVED this bra. The cups were a perfect fit on me and the band was wonderfully tight. The shape was rounded and smooth and I feel like it would be a fantastic alternative to the Deco for women who find the 28s too big. As with all Panache bras, the wires were quite wide and so the profile was slightly more flattened than the Deco. At £26 it’s quite reasonably priced too. I would have bought it if it weren’t for Frugal Feb!

Next came the Paige bra from Miss Mandalay. I’d spoken to the fitter about my general dislike of unpadded bras, due to it being more difficult to get the rounded shape I like. With this one she proved me wrong, as the 28G gave a really nice, rounded shape from the side. The top of the cup cut in ever so slightly, but not to the extent that it would be noticeable under clothing. I found the 28 band to be pleasingly snug on the loosest hook. I really hate this colour, but the new yellow shade is much more up my street.

The only downside was the £36 price tag!

The Ditsy Blossom Bra by Bravissimo. This bra absolutely did not work for me. We’re talking elf shoe combined with gaping on the top. We didn’t waste time trying to fix this, as I don’t like the pattern either. It’s worth mentioning that I think this bra is true to size, rather than coming up a little smaller in the cups (as with the other bras I tried), and this is also true of the back band.

Finally, I asked to try a strapless bra and I was brought the Deco Strapless in a 28FF (which is my usual Deco size). I’ve tried this bra before, but in a store which only stocked 30s and above, so I was really pleased to be able to try a 28. It was an absolute sub-28 joy, fitted tightly on my 26 inch underbust. I threw myself around the changing room a little (with restraint as the fitter was still there!) and it didn’t budge an inch. I found the bottom of the cups to be slightly too shallow and I had a small line there, but it couldn’t be seen under clothes so I wasn’t bothered by it. It’s quite low-cut for a strapless, so is another good option for full-on-top boobs.

And that’s where the 28G/FF options ended. The fitter told me that the 28 and 30 bands always sell out very quickly in that branch and, illogically, less of them are ordered in. I really wanted to try some of the prettier styles and some of the Bravissimo exclusives, but alas, it was not to be. On the plus side, I discovered some basics and one prettier style that are great for the sub-28 market, and got the wonderful fitting and service I have come to expect from Bravissimo.

 


One response to “Bravissimo Part 2: Re-fitting and sub-28 bands

  1. Kitty says:

    Great blog post – interesting that the Juna didn’t work so well for you – I found the 28FF a great fit x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 771 other followers

