Undressed to Impress

Panache Page Swimsuit Review

on March 30, 2012

I’m a big fan of Panache swimwear, and the Page swimsuit really caught my eye this season. With its cute print and retro styling it really stands out from the crowd. Unfortunately Panache don’t make most of their swimwear in a 28 back, and when they do it’s never the cute patterns that attract me. Nevertheless, a tight band is not so important to me when choosing swimwear so I still buy some of their styles in a 30, which is what I did with this swimsuit.

I was really intrigued by the empire line look of the swimsuit and couldn’t figure out how it worked until I saw it! It turns out there are two layers from under the bust, the first being a curve-skimming outer layer with the pretty pattern and the second being a bikini bottom attached to some white mesh. This is quite clever and it’s good to know you won’t be indecent if a sudden gust of wind catches you out. However, it will certainly make the swimsuit a little warmer, which might not be great for a hot summer’s day but will probably be excellent for a somewhat chilly British beach this summer! My other concern is that as the top layer of material was quite loose, it could easily float up if you went swimming in it, revealing the less attractive white mesh beneath. The swimsuit clearly isn’t designed for serious swimming, but it might be one to reserve for sunbathing with this in mind.

I’m very much between sizes at the moment, which has been rather irritating. I decided to order this in a 30FF, but as the cups aren’t padded I had some wrinkling going on at the tops. For that reason I think it’s fairly true to size. Swimsuits with underwires are never a delight to get on, and this certainly stabbed me a few times whilst I wriggled into it, but the addition of a bra back fastening underneath the outer layer made it a bit easier. I was pleased to note that the bikini bottom style part gave good rear coverage, which I generally find of Panache swimwear compared to Freya, which I find quite skimpy. Most of your bum is covered by the outside part, but it was again good to know I wouldn’t be on show when the wind blew.

This swimsuit would be ideal for anyone lacking in body confidence, which I expect is most of us when it comes to stripping down to our smalls in front of strangers on a beach. It provides more coverage than a normal tankini or swimsuit because the fabric is not clingy, although if you were slightly larger in the tummy area you might find it a little less loose. Personally I disliked the coverage of the swimsuit, as I felt it didn’t do anything for my figure, and there was slightly more fabric around the tummy area than I would have liked. I think this was partly due to the sizing – I (ideally) wear a 26 back, not a 30, so it makes sense that the whole thing was a bit too big for me. The bikini bottom part was also on the large side, although it was held up by the white mesh area. This is a common complaint I have with Panache, as I often find their size 8 bottoms too large when I take an 8-10 in other brands. In future I hope to see them revise this, or introduce a size 6 as standard.

Another bonus I can see with this swimsuit is it caters for a variety of body lengths. I know a lot of people struggle with the length of the body in swimsuits, but this is far more forgiving. For instance, if it was too long in the body you could allow the white mesh section to scrunch up a little, whilst retaining a smooth outline on the outside. The mesh has a lot of stretch, so I can imagine it would also stretch to accommodate a longer body, and then the outer material would simply sit a little higher.

Overall, I’m a big fan of this swimsuit and the bikini which is also available. I’m disappointed I won’t be able to keep it, as it was simply too big for me and it didn’t suit me because of this. Please, Panache, can we have some 28 backs in your beautiful swimwear?


8 responses to “Panache Page Swimsuit Review

  1. Darlene says:

    Even though I’m going to challenge myself to try a bikini this year, this is exactly the kind of style I would gravitate towards, so I really appreciate your going into detail about how it works. And other than the wrinkling in the bust, I think it looks GREAT on you.

    • Laura says:

      Thanks Darlene! I’d probably keep it if it was a little cheaper, but I can’t justify the price for something that’s not perfect. Such a shame!

  2. astrid says:

    You look cute as a button in this, but I agree that a smaller size would definitely suit you better.

  3. Eileen says:

    Thanks for all the details! I’m going to order it but I’m worried it’ll be too loose in the midsection. On Panache’s model it looks tight.

  4. Beata says:

    I ordered it from Amazon.uk, and feel a bit disapointed about the way it fits:/
    70 FF does nothing to my bust, no uplifting…and the middle part with buttons is rather wide so doesn’t lie flat like id does on the model

  5. Laura says:

    I live this swimsuit. It’s really cute and unique. Have you ever tried a miss mandalay bikini? I have seen one that I really like but have never worn that brand before :S

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 770 other followers

