Undressed to Impress

Bravissimo Satine review

on July 5, 2012

I recently took a trip to my local Bravissimo store to try out their own brand padded plunge bra: the Satine. I’ve tried on a couple of Bravissimo brand bras in store before, but have never been particularly interested in their offerings because they’ve most been balcony and/or unpadded styles, both things that I’m not a fan of in a bra. So I’ve been excited to try this one ever since it came out a few months ago, but have had to wait due to not living in the right country!

I know a lot of people will be underwhelmed by the black or white colour options in this bra, but I was more than happy – I’ve wanted a plain black padded plunge bra that looks a bit nicer than the Deco for a very long time, but have never found one that fits requirements until now. Still, if you’d like something a bit jazzier, Bravissimo recently released the floral Oh So Kimono version of this bra. It’s not my cup of tea, but it’s definitely more summery and interesting.

I went for the 28G in this bra – the size that usually fits me best in plunge bras. Bravissimo bras seem to strike a happy medium between the wide wires of Panache and the narrow ones of Freya, so they probably work for a lot of people. The bands run a little loose, and this 28 works for me only on the tightest hook – meaning I will have to shorten the brand in the not too distant future. Thankfully the straps are fully-adjustable so I’ll only be needing to make one alteration. They’re also a good level of slipperiness – easy to adjust but they don’t lengthen as you wear/wash the bra.

Shape-wise, this bra doesn’t give me much cleavage. It also has more of a natural shape under clothing than the likes of the Deco, so it would be a good option if you don’t like the perfectly rounded look. I find the cups have more coverage than some other plunge bras I own, which gave me a little sizing hiccup. My breast tissue comes up quite high on my chest and I often find that cups with a lot of coverage cut in ever so slightly at the very top. This is usually either not an issue, or becomes very pronounced after I have been wearing the bra for an hour or so. Thankfully it’s not an issue in this bra, but I wouldn’t wear it under a skin-tight top because of this. The other reason I wouldn’t wear it under a very tight top is I find lines often appear on the outside of the bra due to the lining. This seems like a construction issue and varies from bra to bra – I tried on another that was much worse than what you can see in the picture below. With mine, I find I can smooth this out, but it’s a bit disappointing considering the bra retails at £29 (or £32 for the Oh So Kimono – apparently printed fabric comes at a premium these days…).

An issue I often find with plunge bras, but don’t experience too much in this one is the ‘orange in a glass’ look where space is left at the bottom of the cup. I get this very badly on the Curvy Kate plunges because they’re so shallow in the cup. In the picture above I’d been wearing the bra for a whole day, and you can see a slight hint of empty fabric at the bottom of the cup, but it’s barely noticeable. It doesn’t show up under clothes and, more importantly, doesn’t leave me at the risk of my nipples making a break for freedom. I felt very supported and contained by the bra all day.

I don’t usually pay full-price for bras, but I made an exception for this one as a good plunge bra is hard to find and Bravissimo don’t discount their stock very much when it comes to their sales. What really makes it worth the price is how comfortable it is. There was no need to ‘break-in’ this bra – it was comfortable the very first time I wore it. Overall, I’m very happy with this bra and would recommend it to anyone searching for a good basic plunge. It’s currently available from Bravissimo for £29 in 28-38 DD-J – a fantastic range of sizes for a padded bra.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 770 other followers

