Undressed to Impress

Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte

on August 24, 2012

This review is well overdue – my laptop’s been in repair for a few weeks so I’ve got a few new posts to share with you this coming week!
Thanks to the lovely Chrystal from By Baby’s Rules (a great lingerie blog you should check out – especially if you’re pregnant, wear a small band and/or have implants) I got this beautiful bra set for a bargain price. It’s one I’ve been wanting to try for ages but until recently there haven’t been any UK stockists. I actually ordered it from the US back in March, but the parcel got lost along the way and I never received it. Thankfully, this bra’s journey was a lot smoother!

I’m having problems uploading photos tonight, and this is the only photo it will let me add. I will add more of the whole set once it’s working properly! But you can see from this one what a seriously good looking bra this is!

In terms of fit, I’m wearing a 28G in most styles at the moment, but this fit well in a 30G. The band is EXTREMELY tight for a 30, which is good for me as they don’t sell 28s or 26s. I would say the band fits 1.5 sizes smaller than it states and the cup fits 1 size smaller. This sizing inconsistency may put you off this bra, but I’ve read a few reviews that agree with my findings, so I’d have a read around to try and get a confident idea of what you’d need. Seriously, it’s worth the effort. Oh and despite this being a US brand, they use UK sizing like Freya, Panache and Curvy Kate. Unfortunately, G is the largest cup size available in this bra, and with it fitting small this is a very limited size range.

Shape-wise, the cups of this bra are shallow and wide. They are too shallow for me, which is not actually a bad thing. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know I can’t usually wear balconette bras as my breasts are very close set and the central wires sit on my breast tissue and not my ribcage, causing a lot of pain. This bra is very comfortable for me, as the shallowness of the cups prevents the centre gore from sitting against my body. Of course, I wouldn’t recommend you wear a bra where the centre gore doesn’t sit against your ribcage, as this usually means it does not fit you or is not a good shape for you (the latter being true here). However, I love this bra too much to let that bother me and I still feel very well supported by it.

The band is deeper than most of my everyday bras, which makes it feel very supportive and it isn’t likely to dig in. It fastens with three hooks, which I know many larger-busted ladies will like. The straps are also nice and sturdy, and are fully adjustable. The inside of the cups feels softer than the outer fabrics, and didn’t cause any irritation to my sensitive skin.

I found this bra took a couple of wears before it became totally comfortable. This is mostly due to the strap placement. I have quite narrow shoulders and I find the straps to be slightly too wide for me. With some softening of the fabric it’s become a lot better, and they no longer dig in. You know that feeling of desperately wanting to get your bra off as soon as you get home? Well you might find the opposite here – desperation to take your clothes off and admire its beauty!

If you’re outside the US (the only place this brand is widely available) I’d recommend Large Cup Lingerie for this bra. They stock the Charlotte in this colourway and also peach (photos of that one coming soon too!) with free worldwide delivery. Their customer service is great too!

More red undies coming next…


2 responses to “Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte

  1. Laura M says:

    This is a brilliantly comprehensive review – we shall encourage anyone enquiring about this bra to take a read :) And thank you for your kind words about Large Cup Lingerie :)
    Kindest regards,
    Laura x
    LCL

  2. christine mckellow says:

    what a fantastic review….you cover everything ,,,(excuse the pun !) sadly the blog does not cater for me being outside their size range, but love looking in hope ! keep on writing for all us big and beautifull ladies xxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 771 other followers

