Undressed to Impress

Bravissimo Demi Diva D+ bra review

on August 4, 2012

Not too long ago I placed an order in the Bravissimo/Pepperberry sale. I wasn’t expecting to be particularly impressed with much of what I ordered, as I’ve tried PB clothes in the past and found the size 8s swamp me, and the bras I ordered were more out of curiosity about how the styles fit in the correct size. This is one of those bras: the Demi Diva in a bright pillarbox red. A couple of months ago I tried a similar bra from Bravissimo, the Rococo Charm, but I was only able to try a 28FF and this was clearly too small. I hoped that some of the fit issues I experience in this size would be resolved in the 28G, which is the size I went for in the Demi Diva.

From what I can see, this bra has exactly the same construction as the Rococo Charm, but in my opinion is less attractive. I know many will love the bright red and the leopard print bows, but I’m not a massive fan of the colour and I really don’t like the pattern on the cups, which seems quite old-fashioned to me.

Fit-wise, this was far better than the 28FF Rococo Charm. The shape from the side was pleasingly rounded, and the cups were a perfect fit with no overspill. I do think this is a bra better suited to full on top boobs (unlike my bottom-heavy boobs) as the dramatic straight-across of the half cup means there is less fabric around to shape the top half of the breast, but it’s not doing a bad job – as you can see in the photo below. I think you’d get a very Marie Antoinette style cleavage in this bra if you were full on top.
The band felt like a fairly standard 28, so it was too loose on me even on the tightest hooks.

Ultimately, this was never a bra that was going to work well for me. As I noted with the Rococo Charm, the wires are quite wide and as a result the overall shape is somewhat flattened. The straps are also very wide set, and were digging in from the moment I put the bra on. And, of course, the ultimate deal-breaker for me was that super-high centre gore. As well as being high, it’s quite wide, and I was in quite a lot of pain within 5 minutes of putting the bra on. Some balconettes, such as the Masquerade Rhea, are just about OK for my close-set boobs, but this one was absolute hell. Give me back my plunges! The things I put myself through for you, readers :p

7 responses to “Bravissimo Demi Diva D+ bra review

  1. astrid says:

    Not a fan of the bra, but that leopard print bow is cute as hell.

  2. Sonia says:

    If you want to sell your Demi Diva and are willing to ship to California, please let me know. I discovered Bravissimo too late to order this bra. I’ve desperately wanted a red demi bra for a long time, but 28 backs are so hard to find in this style. You can contact me at the email address below. Thanks!

  3. Sonia says:

    Oops, I conflated your Demi Diva review with your Rococo Charm review. I thought you had the Demi Diva in 28FF. My search for the 28FF (or 28F?) Demi Diva in red continues.

  4. Sonia says:

    Hello again from California! I asked before about the 28G Demi Diva when I thought it was a 28FF. If you still have the 28G, I’d now like to buy it from you. My 28F Tanzania Stripes are too small now. My recently purchased 28FF Rococo Charms in Ivory/Ice Pink seem too small now. The Rococo Charm, like the Demi Diva, iss supposed to have been cut bigger than the Tanzania Stripe. All this makes me think your 28G would fit me now. Can you and will you sell it to me? If we do this through Bratabase, Jj would reimburse you for $10 of the shipping, too.

Leave a Reply

