Undressed to Impress

Urkye “Kieska” Dress Review

on November 13, 2012

I decided to place another Urkye order a month after my first one, as I was excited by the new designs that had come out. As it turns out, I didn’t end up ordering the ones I had my eye on as I wasn’t quick enough and they were sold out (so I will obviously be going back to make another order soon!) so I instead ordered some things I’d had my eye on for a while as well as a long-sleeved top.

First up is the Kieska dress in turquoise. I love the colour of this dress, but I held off ordering when it first came out as I wasn’t too sure about the puffy sleeves and the shape. Around my hips my shape has kind of a natural muffin-top, which I really hate so I avoid styles that look like they’ll be figure-hugging around that area. However, I then saw it on a number of bloggers, namely Bras I Hate & Love, Boosaurus and Muscular Hourglass – Boosaurus having passed it on to Muscular Hourglass as it didn’t work so well for her makes for interesting reading as you can see literally the exact same dress on two ladies with similar measurements but different experiences. On none of these lovely ladies did the dress look particularly clingy in that area, and having tried a couple of tops already I found the puffy shoulders far less off-putting, so I decided to take the plunge. My size had been sold out for a while and I was lucky to head to the site on a day when one had re-appeared!

This is a 34o/oo and overall I’m really pleased with the fit. The material is reasonably thick and feels similar  in weight to the Francuski top but stretchier. The fit across the waist and bust is really good, but I found the dress a tad large on the hips – probably most noticeable in the photo on the right. I’ll wait and see what happens when I wash it, but I don’t think I will alter it. The other slight niggle I had with the fit was it being slightly too large across the shoulders. I’m going to take them in a touch, as that’s all it needs and it won’t be too difficult to do. Again, I’ll probably see what happens in the wash before I do that.

I love the colour and it works so well with my skin tone. The new versions of this dress with longer sleeves for cooler weather look great, but they are all in more autumnal shades which don’t work so well for me. I’m still tempted to go for the black one, though I probably don’t need any more black clothing. I think this dress will be easy to dress up for cool weather – I’m planning on black tights and a cardigan. Maybe I’ll try an outfit post one day if I think the world can take my incredible (lack of) style 😉

As before, the ordering process with Urkye was as simple as any English website I use – at no point are you presented with baffling (to me, at least) Polish – and my order arrived very speedily. Best of all, Urkye have recently introduced a loyalty discount which increases with every 300PLN you spend. As my last order was just over this, I got 2% off this one!

2 responses to “Urkye “Kieska” Dress Review

  1. astrid says:

    mmm, you make me wanna try the 3/4 sleeves version, as the shades would work better with my complexion and I’ve been eyeing them since they came out. This one looks great on you!

    • Laura says:

      Thank you! I wrote this before actually wearing it and now that I have worn it I love it even more 🙂 I think I’m going to get the 3/4 sleeved version with my next order.

Leave a Reply

