Undressed to Impress

Urkye “Dzwonek” Top Review

on November 15, 2012

I really like the short-sleeved tops I’ve ordered from Uryke, but they are designed as summer tops and I’m not sure how much wear I’m going to get out of them this winter. With that in mind I was keen to try one of the Dzwonek tops, which are the long-sleeved versions of the Kokarda tops.

The navy blue and green versions appealed to me as they are usually colours that suit me, and I went for the navy version mainly because I’ve been looking for a top that goes well with the pesky jeans in the photo below – I love them, but they’re really hard to wear! (I know, this is getting worryingly close to an outfit post…)

I went for the 34oo/ooo, which is the next ‘boob size’ up from all the other items I’ve reviewed so far. In some items I’ve felt like I could do with the extra space, while in others the o/oo has given me plenty. I chose the oo/ooo here purely because the smaller size was out of stock and I really wanted to try the top, and luckily it’s worked out well. I think either size would have worked for me because of the shaping – in the princess seams of the Francuski, for example, there’s less room for variation.

The fabric feels like good quality, and is just the right level of clingy so it shows off your shape but not all your lumps and bumps. It’s a great length for me as I always have to wear a belt with my jeans and don’t like to have that on show. I wasn’t crazy about the bell sleeves when I saw them online, but I actually quite like them in person. They balance out my skinny jeans quite nicely, and they’ve got quite a relaxed feel. One of my favourite winter cardigans also has this shape of sleeve so it works really well on top.

The only thing that doesn’t work for me about this top is the neckline. It’s just a little too wide for me at the shoulders, so without a jumper on it wants to do this:

 

I think this is partly a symptom of me ordering the oo/ooo, and partly me just having narrow shoulders. The dress I have with the same neckline does it, but to a lesser extent. To fix this, I plan on taking in the shoulder seams slightly – as it’s a raglan seam this is pretty easy to do without changing the shape too much.

At the time of writing, these tops are awaiting stock on the Urkye website, but should be re-stocked soon!

One response to “Urkye “Dzwonek” Top Review

  1. […] a second opinion, check out these reviews from Undressed to impress, Muscular Hourglass, and the Full Figured […]

Leave a Reply

